Imitation is the biggest form of flattery?


I came across a video on youtube earlier of a group of dancers from India doing a dance for their school. They used parts of our Jashan 2011 performance and mix from this past May in Calgary. We don’t release our performance mixes right away so they must have ripped it from the GTV video on youtube.  Anyways, it got me thinking about all the videos I’ve seen over the past few years of groups in India, the UK, Canada, Australia and all over the world doing our routines, whether it be DDA 2008Bruin Bhangra 2009, Elite 8 2010, and now Jashan 2011.

At first it was kind of weird. People would say, don’t you get mad? They’re taking your hard work and pretending its theirs? Their stealing your routines. I used to be kind of on the fence about this. On one hand, it is a bit odd seeing people you have never met dancing to your mixes and doing your routine. But on the other hand, it is a bit of a compliment. As they say, imitation is the biggest form of flattery. And we kept seeing it, more and more. I wanna say I’ve seen hundreds and hundreds of videos of people doing our routines to our exact mixes all over the world. Most of the time you can hear Bhangra Empire in the mix or the crowd reaction from the video the music was taken.

And then I came to the realization that this wasn’t a bad thing. It was a good thing. It gave us exposure  that otherwise we could never get as a team.  It showed our routines to people who would never be able to see us. Sure, it wasn’t executed exactly like us and there might be some mistakes here and there (yes, I’m a perfectionist) but the effort was put in and that is commendable. So now we encourage it. We even put some of our past mixes on our website for people to download to listen to or even perform to.  Every time I see a video with some Empire influences, its almost satisfying now. Everybody gets their inspiration from different places but having the ability to BE somebody’s inspiration is truly an honor for our team.

So with that being said, here’s a little compilation a group of people in India did. They even named themselves Bhangra Empire Juniors (I think the actual Empire Juniors team might have something to say about that). They have segments from our 2008, 2009, and 2010 performances, almost like a tribute. They really did their homework.

Since this is my first Empire-Inspiration video being posted, I won’t go into details of their video and what I liked and didn’t like. Just watch it and enjoy it. I’ll be posting more of these as I come across them. And back to the title of this post, is imitation the biggest form of flattery? For me it is.

About omer81

By day (and some nights), I am a Network Engineer working for a startup in Redwood City. By night (and some days), I am an MBA student at Santa Clara University. Whatever time is left goes into Bhangra Empire. What is Bhangra Empire? Read my blog and you'll find out.
This entry was posted in Bhangra, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

